Milos Raonic Wins the Inaugural Eisenhower Cup

The 7th Tie Break Tens tournament featured a world class field, including Rafael Nadal, Dominic Thiem, Milos Raonic, Stan Wawrinka, Gael Monfils, David Goffin, Marin Cilic and Taylor Fritz 

Tie Break Tens celebrated their return to the US in style with an action-packed tournament that was won by the big-serving Canadian Milos Raonic, defeating the Swiss Stan Wawrinka 10-6 in a closely matched final.

The Eisenhower Cup presented by Masimo – a one-night Tie Break Tens tournament was held ahead of the BNP Paribas Open at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, CA for the first time on Tuesday night in front of a sell-out crowd of 8000.

Raonic has had an impressive start to his Indian Wells campaign, pocketing $150,000 and the coveted Eisenhower Cup trophy.  The Canadian took down the flamboyant Frenchman Gael Monfils and big serving Croatian Marin Cilic before posting a convincing 10-6 win over Wawrinka in the final.

After a 20-minute rain delay in Indian Wells, the excitable crowd were treated to a first class evening of tennis with many entertaining shots and rallies.

World No.2 Nadal headed the all-star line-up, which included ex Wimbledon finalists – Milos Raonic and Marin Cilic, French Open 2018 finalist – Dominic Thiem, local hero Taylor Fritz, three time Grand Slam winning legend Stan Wawrinka, the four time ATP Tour winner Belgian David Goffin and the eight time ATP Tour winner, Gael Monfils.

This was the fourth time a men’s Tie Break Tens event had been staged after Kyle Edmund won in London in 2015, Thiem in Vienna 206, Grigor Dimitrov in Madrid 2017 and Tomas Berdych in Melbourne last year. Elina Svitolina is the reigning women’s champion having won Tie Break Tens at Madison Square Garden in 2018.

It was a fantastic return to Tie Break Tens for Raonic, who made his debut in Melbourne in 2018, ‘I’m so happy to have won the inaugural Tie Break Tens here in The Desert.  I have really enjoyed competing in the format, the crowd were fantastic and I’m hoping it has bought me a bit of luck ahead of the BNP Paribas Open”.

“After two successful events in 2018, we are delighted to have returned to the US with Tie Break Tens Indian Wells.  We could not have wished for a better reception and look forward to holding more events in the US over the next few years”.  said Felicity Barnard, CEO of Tie Break Tens. “Our objective is to introduce tennis to new audience with our high energy and entertaining format.  We have really enjoyed staging this event with our partners at the BNP Paribas Open in front of our passionate American fans. Many congratulations to Milos for a phenomenal tournament and good luck at the BNP Paribas Open.”

All ticket proceeds from the event benefitted four local charities: Eisenhower Medical Center; Bighorn Golf Club Charities; Family YMCA of the Desert; and Patient Safety Movement.  In total over $500,000 was raised.


Match One:      David Goffin v Marin Cilic                       11-9

Match Two:      Gael Monfils v Milos Raonic                   7-10

Match Three:    Stan Wawrinka v Dominic Thiem            10-5

Match Four:     Rafael Nadal v Taylor Fritz                     10-8

Semi Final 1:    Cilic v Raonic                3-10

Semi Final 2:    Wawrinka v Nadal         13-11

Final:               Raonic v Wawrinka        10-7

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.